Charcot Award

MSIF gives the Charcot Award every two years for a lifetime achievement in outstanding research into the understanding or treatment of MS.

The winner is invited to give the Charcot Lecture at the European Committee of Treatment and Research in MS (ECTRIMS) meeting and at the biennial MSIF Council Meeting.

The award covers the costs of the winner's travel, accommodation and expenses to attend the above meetings, with a maximum grant of UK £5,000. In addition, the winner is awarded UK £1,500.

2013 winner

The winner of the 2013 Charcot Award is Professor Stephen Hauser.

Professor Stephen Hauser is an international leader in MS research and for more than two decades has led the systematic efforts to identify genes that determine susceptibility to multiple sclerosis. These efforts led to the identification of specific genes of the HLA system (a group of genes that play an important role in many aspects of immunity) linked to MS.

He was a founding member of the International Multiple Sclerosis Genetics Consortium in 2002, which helped identify the first two non-HLA genes involved in susceptibility to multiple sclerosis, IL-2Rα and IL-7R α (CD127).

In the United States, Professor Hauser established and has since maintained the first national DNA repository for multiple sclerosis, making available samples from well-characterized individuals for investigators worldwide.

Professor Hauser also worked on the role of B cells and the antibodies they produce in the pathogenesis of multiple sclerosis. The findings from these studies were translated into a new therapy for multiple sclerosis, using the anti-CD20 monoclonal antibody rituximab to deplete B cells. He led a large clinical trial evaluating rituximab, and the results published in 2008 demonstrated robust efficacy in relapsing remitting multiple sclerosis. Phase III trials with the humanized antibody ocrelizumab are currently underway.

While Professor Hauser has made outstanding contributions to the clinical science of human demyelinating disease, his larger impact on neuroscience and medicine has also been exceptional and far reaching. He is a past president of the American Neurological Association and has been an editor of several prestigious journals. For more than two decades, he has led the Department of Neurology at the University of California San Francisco, and in this role has trained and inspired a generation of younger neurologists.

Professor Hauser has chaired numerous committees of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) and is currently serving on the Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues, charged with advising President Barack Obama on issues that may emerge from advances in biomedicine and related areas of science and technology.

Past winners of the Charcot Award
Year Winner Country
2011 Prof Larry Steinman USA
2009 Prof John Prineas Australia
2007 Prof Alastair Compston UK
2005 Prof Hans Lassmann Austria
2003 Dr Henry McFarland USA
2001 Prof Hartmut Wekerle Germany
1999 Prof John Kurtzke USA
1995 Prof Donald Paty Canada
1993 Dr Byron Waksman USA
1991 Prof Ian McDonald UK
1988 Dr Yoshigoro Kuroiwa Japan
1985 Dr Richard T Johnson USA
1983 Dr Leonard T Kurland USA
1981 Dr Helmut Bauer Germany
1969 Dr Douglas McAlpine UK

Jean Martin Charcot

Jean Martin Charcot, born in Paris in 1825, is considered by many to be the founder of modern neurology.

In 1868, as Professor of Neurology at the University of Paris, he made the first diagnosis of MS and his clinical-pathological definition is still used today.

For much of his career Charcot worked and taught at the Salpêtrière Hospital in Paris where in 1882 he established a neurology clinic, the first of its kind in Europe.

Since 1969, the Charcot Award has recognised the significance both of Charcot's studies into neurological diseases and of his pioneering work which led him to be among the first to match specific anatomical lesions to a variety of neurological disorders, including MS.

Charcot Award winners

MSIF news | 15 March 2013

Professor Stephen Hauser wins prestigious international award for MS research

MSIF is delighted to announce that Prof Stephen L. Hauser, is the 2013 winner of the Charcot award in recognition of his pioneering studies in MS genetic susceptibility and role in translating immunologic findings into clinical trials.


Charcot Award news