A team of global experts to answer your questions

Learn about the latest advances in progressive MS research and treatment during this 30-minute global webcast.  An international panel of MS experts will answer questions submitted by people affected by MS from throughout the world.  From symptom management and well-being to the development of treatments that can slow progression and rebuild myelin, this webcast will provide information to help improve quality of life and keep you informed.

The International Progressive MS Alliance is a first-of-its-kind global research network aimed at accelerating the development of new, effective treatments for progressive MS. We are rallying the world through an unprecedented collaboration of MS organizations, researchers, healthcare professionals, pharmaceutical companies, trusts, foundations, donors and people affected by MS. Our promise is more than hope; it is progress.

Keep scrolling to read more about this webcast’s panel.

Join us for the global webcast on 24 June

The 24 June webcast will be live-streamed from the MS International Federation Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Webcast start time :  08:00 PDT / 10am CDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST / 20:30 IST / 01:00 AEST

Register now

Registration will allow you to submit your questions for the panel and ensure access to the webcast post-event if you are unable to join live.

    Your data will be held securely by MSIF and will not be shared with a third party. To ensure your privacy is protected, we will store your name and email address separately to the information you provide for question 5. Read our privacy, terms and conditions policy for further details.

 

About the panelists

 Jorge Correale, MD is Head of Neuroimmunology and Demyelinating Diseases at the Dr Raúl Carrea Institute for Neurological Research in Buenos Aires, Argentina. He also serves as Assistant Professor of Neurology and Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Immunology at the University of Southern California. He is a member of the Argentine Medical Advisory Board for Multiple Sclerosis and the Deputy Chair of MSIF’s International Medical and Scientific Advisory Board.

His major research interests are in neuroimmunology, demyelinating diseases, and glial cell biology. He has authored more than 100 papers, published in neurology and immunology peer-reviewed journals. In addition, he has written over 30 chapters in books on MS and neuroimmunology. He has received numerous awards for his research on treatments for MS, and he participates as a member of several professional societies.

Emma Gray, PhD is Assistant Director of Research at the MS Society, UK. She leads the strategic development of the MS Society’s broad research programme including the UK MS Register, MS Society Tissue Bank, translational Centres of Excellence and a novel and evolving innovative clinical trials programme, including the ground-breaking OCTOPUS trial platform. She also has responsibility for the Patient Public Involvement and research communications programmes.

Before joining the MS Society in 2012, she gained a PhD in molecular neuroscience and worked as a post-doctoral researcher at King’s College London with a focus on molecular and cellular processes associated with neurodegeneration in Alzheimer’s disease.

Anthony Feinstein, MPhil, PhD, FRCP is professor of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto and runs the neuropsychiatry program at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. He runs a clinical service and research team focusing on the neuropsychiatric changes that commonly occur in people with multiple sclerosis. He is past chair of the Medical Advisory Committee of the MS Society of Canada and a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of the International Progressive MS Alliance.

His current MS-related research focuses on three areas: (1) Directing an international effort (11 centres, 6 countries) to determine whether cognitive dysfunction in people with progressive MS can improve with combined cognitive rehabilitation and individually tailored aerobic exercise; (2) To determine the cognitive and brain MRI changes linked to cannabis use; (3) To develop and implement computer driven models of cognitive assessment. Dr. Feinstein is the author of over 250 MS-related publications and The Clinical Neuropsychiatry of Multiple Sclerosis. Among the honors he has received are a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Peabody Award.

Renuka Malaker, has served as a volunteer with the Multiple Sclerosis Society of India for over 20 years and is the primary caregiver of her husband who was diagnosed with Primary Progressive MS in 1998.

For the last five years, she has been the Honorary National Secretary with the Society, working closely with the regional chapters to build the narrative of rights and inclusion both at the central and state level for people with MS. She also works with diverse stakeholders including other government disability organisations, corporations, pharmaceutical companies and the media to ensure the voices and needs of people with MS are heard by policymakers and at the national and international levels. Her leadership has helped establish new connections with MS societies in Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Pakistan to build an understanding of needs, similarities and challenges based on similar socio-economic and cultural disposition and explore ways to start a South Asia regional dialogue on MS.