Members of the MS International Federation and guests at a board meeting in Barcelona, October 2015

Members of the MS International Federation and guests at a board meeting in Barcelona, October 2015

The board of trustees carries the main responsibility for governing the MS International Federation, for setting its direction, and for overseeing the Chief Executive (CEO). There are currently 27 trustees, who meet twice a year.

President and Chairman: Weyman T. Johnson Jr. (USA)

Weyman, who has MS, served as Chair of the Board of Directors of the US National MS Society (NMSS) from 2005 to 2009. He was elected as President and Chairman of MSIF in 2011.

Vice Chair: Marie Vaillant (Canada)

Marie was diagnosed with MS in 1996. She is Chair of the Ontario & Nunavut Division Board of the MS Society of Canada.

Treasurer: Guillaume Courault (France)

Guillaume is an administrative and financial manager at an industrial and textile group that focuses on private asset management. He has served as Treasurer of Ligue Française contre la Sclérose En Plaques since 2007.

Board Secretary: Mai Sharawy  (Egypt)

Mai is Professor of Neuro-Ophthalmology at Cairo University. Mai worked with a small support group for many years and founded MS Care, the first patients’ society for any disease in Egypt.

María José Wuille-Bille (Argentina)

María José is a former CEO of Esclerosis Múltiple Argentina and has been a member of the MSIF board since 2011.

Matthew Miles (Australia)

Matthew is CEO of MS Research Australia.

Charles van der Straten Waillet (Belgium)

Charles is Chairman of Ligue Nationale Belge de la Sclérose en Plaques. He is also on the board of the two Belgian regional societies, MS-Liga Vlaanderen vzw and Ligue Belge de la Sclérose en Plaques – Communauté Française asbl.

Daniel Larouche (Canada)

Daniel is a past chair of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada and of the Society’s Quebec Division. He is chair of MS International Federation’s nominating committee.

Yves Savoie (Canada)

Yves is President and CEO of the MS Society of Canada.

Christian Bardenfleth (Denmark)

Christian is chairman of Scleroseforeningen (The Danish MS Society). He also works as partner and attorney-at-law at one of the top three law firms in Denmark.

Klaus Høm (Denmark)

Klaus is the CEO of Scleroseforeningen (The Danish MS Society).  He also chairs the CEO Advisory Group.

Anne Winslow (EMSP)

Anne is the President of the European Multiple Sclerosis Platform (EMSP).

Dorothea Pitschnau-Michel (Germany)

Dorothea is the former CEO of German MS Society and has been an MSIF board member since 2005.

Prof Reinhard Hohlfeld (Germany)

Reinhard is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Institute of Clinical Neuroimmunology at Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich. He is the Vice Chair of MSIF’s International Medical and Scientific Board.

Dimitra Kalogianni (Greece)

Dimitra, who has MS, is a member of the Board of the Greek MS Society.

Ann Gonsalves (India)

Ann was one of the founding members of the Chennai Chapter of the Multiple Sclerosis Society of India. She is also Vice-President of the All India Multiple Sclerosis Society of India.

Mario Battaglia (Italy)

Mario is Professor of Hygiene and Public Health at the University of Siena.

John Golding (Norway)

John holds academic and professional qualifications in business administration and marketing. He was diagnosed with MS in 1987 and is immediate past president of the European MS Platform (EMSP).

Magdalena Fac-Skhirtladze (Poland)

Magdalena is Secretary General of the Polish MS Society, responsible for advocacy, lobbing, external and media contacts and evaluation.

Ana Torredemer (Spain)

Ana is the President of Esclerosis Múltiple España (EME) and has served on the board of Fundació Esclerosi Múltiple (FEM) since 2004.

Pedro Carrascal (Spain)

Pedro is the CEO of three organisations: Asociación Española de Esclerosis Múltiple; the Biscay MS Society; and the MS Basque Foundation.

Prof Xavier Montalban (Spain)

Xavier is Chairman of the Department of Neurology-Neuroimmunology and Director of the MS Centre of Catalonia at the Vall d’Hebron University Hospital in Barcelona. He is Chair of MSIF’s International Medical and Scientific Board.

Martin Stevens (UK)

Martin has been living with MS since 1993 and has been active in the UK MS Society since 1996. He is a Trustee for Disability Rights UK and currently chairs MSIF’s People with MS advisory committee.

Michelle Mitchell OBE (UK)

Michelle Mitchell is CEO of the MS Society of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Cyndi Zagieboylo (USA)

Cyndi is President and CEO of the National MS Society and chairs the executive committee of the Progressive MS Alliance.

Graham McReynolds (USA)

Graham is Chief Marketing and Development Officer at the National MS Society.

Peter Galligan (USA)

Peter is the Chair of the National MS Society.

Page Tags: