Member organisations met at our 2017 Council Meeting in London and  had a chance to decide the MS International Federation’s leadership through voting for the Board, Officers and Nominating Committee for the period 2017-2019.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is elected by the council of members. Its role is to identify and invite potential candidates to stand as MS International Federation officers and members of the board of trustees, and of the future nominating committee itself. Final elections are then by secret ballot of the MS International Federation Council.


Daniel Larouche (Canada)


Ava Battles (Ireland)
Charles van der Straten Waillet (Belgium)
Dimitra Kalogianni (Greece)
Mario Battaglia (Italy)
Martin Stevens (UK)
Peer Baneke (MSIF CEO, non-voting member)

The role of the following committees is to advise the board of trustees and the MS International Federation Chief Executive. The committees are composed of trustees and may include others with appropriate skills from the wider MS community.

People with MS Advisory Committee

This committee provides the board and MS International Federation staff with advice and perspectives on the needs of people with and affected by MS. It is formed of members of the board with MS, and other people with MS who fulfil an active function in a member organisation. Additionally, membership of the Committee will include someone with experience of giving care to a person with MS.


Martin Stevens (UK)


Ana Torredemer (Spain)
Anne Restan (Ireland)
Marie Vaillant (Canada)
Jette Bay (Denmark)
Thomas Huber (Finland)

Finance and Audit Committee

This committee advises the board on the financial well-being of the MS International Federation, including the budget, accounts and investments, and recommends an auditor to be appointed by the board.


Vicky Annis (UK)


Guillaume Courault (France)
Klaus Høm (Denmark)
Peter Galligan (USA)
Matthew Miles (Australia, as Chair of the Fundraising Committee)
Martin Stevens (UK)

Fundraising Committee

This committee proposes the MS International Federation fundraising strategy to the board and helps to implement it.


Matthew Miles (Australia)

Vice Chair

Graham McReynolds (USA)


Emma Whitcombe (UK)
Lisa Orombelli (Italy)
Lori Radke (Canada)
Mogens Damsgaard (Denmark)
Pedro Carrascal (Spain)
Rosa Douw (Netherlands)

CEO Advisory Group

The CEO of each MS International Federation full and associate member organisation is a member of the CEO advisory group. It shares best practice and contributes intellectually to the development of the MS International Federation as a whole. The Chairperson and two of the group’s members serve on the MS International Federation board as trustees.


Klaus Høm (Denmark)