Reid and Evelyn Nicholson smile for a photo

Reid and Evelyn Nicholson at MSIF’s Council meeting in 2009

This award, given once every two years, was established in 1994 in honour of Evelyn Nicholson. Evelyn is the wife and caregiver of Reid Nicholson, the former chair of MSIF’s Persons with MS International Committee.

The award recognises people who are, or who have been, volunteer caregivers to people with MS and have demonstrated outstanding commitment and devotion.  Candidates for the award must be nominated by MS International Federation member organisations.

Reid Nicholson, who helped to establish the award said:

“The hard cold reality is that MS takes as much of a toll on the family as it does on the person diagnosed. This is a truth that gets taken for granted and we can never repeat it too often.”

The objectives of the award are to:

  • Recognise the importance of the role of volunteer caregivers to people with MS
  • Create greater awareness of the importance of the volunteer caregiver in the lives of people with MS

The winner receives UK £500 towards the cost of any suitable product, service or activity. This is identified at the nomination stage. The winner also receives an MS International Federation certificate in recognition of their dedication. All candidates receive an MS International Federation certificate acknowledging their personal commitment to those affected by MS.

Past Winners

Evelyn Nicholson award winners come from all over the world. Past winners include:

  • Bente Sneis, Norway (2016)
  • Amalía María Villareal de Sepúlveda, Mexico (2014)
  • Maurice Maso, Belgium (2013)
  • Ana Silvia Barajas de Garcia, Mexico (2011)
  • Sarah Thomas, UK (2010)
  • Dale Kempen, South Africa (2009)
  • Elisabeth Golding, Norway (2008)
  • Susana Carballido Perdigón, Uruguay (2007)
  • Maria Fleta, Poland (2006)
  • Maria Broeckx, Belgium (2005)
  • Alan Lindsley, UK (2004)
  • Skaidrite Beitlere, Latvia (2003)
  • Jon Ferguson, Australia (2002)
  • Ion Gîda, Romania (2001)
  • Cor de Wilde, Netherlands (2000)
  • Helen Jean Mortson, Canada (1999)
  • Bente Nielsen, Denmark (1998)
  • Josy Baumann, Switzerland (1997)
  • Joan Dartnell, Australia (1996)
  • Ewa Marszal, Poland (1995)
  • Harry Bell, South Africa (1994)